Buhari to swear in Ministers on wednesday, plus expected list of ministers and their portfolios



President Muhammadu Buhari will on Wednesday, 11 November swear in members of his cabinet, a statement issued by the presidency said on Sunday, ending a five-month wait for a cabinet to be installed in Africa’s most populous nation.

“President Muhammadu Buhari will officially inaugurate a new Federal Executive Council on Wednesday, November 11, 2015,” said the emailed statement from Buhari’s spokesman Femi Adesina.

“Before the commencement of the inaugural session of the council, the ministers-designate will take their oaths of office in the Council Chambers of the Presidential Villa,” it said, adding that this would begin at 10 am local time (0900 GMT).

Nigeria, Africa’s biggest economy and the continent’s top oil producer, faces its worst economic crisis in years brought on by the sharp fall in crude prices since it relies on oil exports for 70 percent of government revenue.

Critics of Buhari, who won March elections after campaigning to rid Nigeria of widespread corruption, said the absence of a ministers created a policy vacuum that exacerbated the economic problems brought on by the fall in oil prices.

Buhari took his 36 ministers on a retreat on Thursday and Friday during which they were handed documents, seen by Reuters, which outlined the state of the economy and the government’s policy goals.

See the purported portfolios allotted to each of the nominees from 21 States of the federation.

Do you think these ministerial nominees rightly fit the ministries they have purportedly been designated to?

Chris Ngige – Anambra (Health)

Kayode Fayemi – Ekiti (Foreign Affairs)

Rotimi Amaechi – Rivers (Ministry of Niger Delta )

Babatunde Fashola – Lagos (FCT)

Abdulrahman Dambazau (Defence)

Aisha Alhassan – Taraba (Women Affairs)

Ogbonnaya Onu – Abia (Science and Technology)

Kemi Adeosun – Ogun (Trade and Investment)

Abubakar Malami (SAN) – Kebbi (Justice)

Sen Hadi Sirika – Katsina (Aviation)

Barr. Adebayo Shittu – Oyo (Works)

Suleiman Adam – Jigawa (Labour and Productivity)

Solomon Dalong – Plateau (Interior)

Ibe Kachikwu – Delta (Petroleum and natural resources)

Osagie Ehanire – Edo (Water Resources and Solid Minerals)

Audu Ogbeh – Benue (Agriculture)

Lai Mohammed – Kwara (Information and Communication)

Ahmed Isa Ibeto – Niger (Transportation)

Amina Mohammed – Kaduna (Finance)

Udoma Udoma – Akwa Ibom (Culture and Tourism).